Minnesota Genealogical Society Logo 1385 Mendota Heights Road
Suite 100
Mendota Heights, MN  55120-1367
(651) 330-9312
Minnesota Genealogical Society

Past Award Recipients

The Minnesota Genealogical Society has a variety of annual awards for the purpose of recognizing the efforts of our volunteers in six categories. Recipients of the first three must be members of the Society. Other awards are open to any qualifying individual. Nominations are collected starting in mid-Summer. The Winners are presented with their awards at the annual North Star Conference in the Fall.
Pat and Dorothy Chandler Award
for exceptional and prolonged service to MGS
Unsung Hero Award
for behind-the-scenes work that contributes to the efficient management and operation of MGS
Founders Award
for visionary organizational leadership that sustains MGS and advances its mission
Minnesota Genealogy Pioneer Award
for contributions to the development of Minnesota resources for genealogy and family history research
Minnesota Genealogy North Star Award
for outstanding contributions to genealogical writing, research or education
Minnesota Genealogy Ambassador Award
for representing Minnesota on the national genealogy scene and bringing honor to Minnesota genealogy
  Chandler Award Unsung Hero Award Founders Award Pioneer Award North Star Award Ambassador Award
2008 Kathy Lund Gerald Maher Robin Panlener Mary Bakeman Darlene Joyce Paula Stuart-Warren
2009 Dixie Hansen Jim Robasse John Schade Kathryn Otto Tom Rice Harold Hinds, Jr
2010 Margie Deutsch MGS Technology Committee Erv Chorn John & Jan Dalby Cathi Weber Alice Eichholz
2011 Beth Mullinax Sandy Stadtherr Mary Wickersham Jennifer de Fiebre Lois Mackin J. H. Fonkert
2012 Sheila Northrop Valerie Morrison Terry Kita Debra Richardson J. H. Fonkert Paula Stuart-Warren
2013 Bergetta Monroe Rick Rusinak Lois Mackin Duane Swanson Sue Kratsch Jennifer de Fiebre
2014 Arlene Fenning Bob Rowe Jere Mackin JoEllen Haugo Rosemary Ruffenach Linda Coffin
2015 Sandy Stadtherr Jack Bergerson David Inman   Susan Hunter Weir
Jim Neuenfeldt
Kent Cutkomp
Kim Ashford
2016 John Schade Frances Hillier   Alfred Dahlquist Ann Eccles Sandy Thalman
2017 Bob Rowe Barb Fonkert J. H. Fonkert Paula Stuart-Warren Elizabeth Gomoll Kim Ashford
Kent Cutkomp
2018 Melva Cain Bert Jones Linda Westrom Frederick L Johnson Vicki Young Albu Valerie Eichler Lair